Afro-American Cultural Center

by

I’m sure you were all wondering what my “big project” was. Well, now that it’s over I have time to post about it. Pride Communications and The Main Event contacted me about making a replica of the Afro-American Cultural Center in Charlotte, North Carolina for the Lowes Pride Awards.

AACC 1 small

It took me about 2 and a half weeks (100 hours) to design and build this model. It is 2 feet wide, 42 inches long and 2 feet tall. Although it is not the biggest building that I’ve built, it was a nice challenge all the same. I built the model at my LEGO studio at home, then took it apart in sections, packed it in a suitcase, and rebuilt it at the event in less than 4 hours. At the very end of the event, my model was presented to the Afro-American Cultural Center as a gift. They are actually building a new center and my LEGO model will be on display in the new building.

I’ve also added a picture of the actual building so that you can compare them.

AACC Real Building

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Afro-American Cultural Center”

  1. Lino Says:

    Its so great to be recognized for your work. great job. You’ve done them proud, I’m sure.

  2. AJ Says:

    I love this. Toured recently…How many bricks?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

