Hope of Obama

by


Hope of Obama, originally uploaded by Model Gal.

If you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you’ve probably been wondering what I have been up to in the way of LEGO building lately.

Late last night I finally finished my latest LEGO creation. I call it the Hope of Obama. I was inspired by Shepard Fairey’s original, and wanted to see if I could do it out of LEGO.

To do it properly, I decided that I would use the colors that were closest too the original. That meant using a whole bunch of Medium and Dark Blue, not the most common of LEGO colors. In fact, I used almost all of my Dark Blue bricks and plates just to finish this model.

It is 28 inches tall and 19 inches wide. I used a lot of SNOT (Studs Not On Top) techniques to get all the details right.

This model took me a lot longer than I’d originally thought it would. Also, it was a lot harder to make because I used less common LEGO colors. But in the end it was all worth it! ;)

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Hope of Obama”

  1. Bill Ward Says:

    Excellent likeness. I feel your pain about the rare colors – I blew through my entire stash of medium blue doing the interior walls of the Robert Indiana LOVE sclupture. Very good work! I especially like the SNOT work in the Obama logo and the O in HOPE.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

