1960 Chevy Apache and the story behind it

by

Lino Martins is a man known for his amazing car building skills. In fact, one of his creations is even pictured in the new The LEGO Book that was just released.

He is also known for his long explanations of why he builds something. Which I find equally as interesting as the creations themselves. :)

His latest the Apache, has a very interesting story to go along with it.

So I built an old truck. Big deal, thats what I always do. Maybe the better story here is not what I did but why.

The tune haunted me as long as I could remember. I’d hear snippets of it in my head or it would be playing very softly in some musty antique shop somewhere and just when I’d try to follow it and really understand it, it would be gone in a flash…nothing but a fading ghosted memory, leaving me not even sure if I’ve heard it in the first place. As it was a wordless instrumental tune, it was impossible to research by keywording lyrics…even a mismatched facsimile of lyrics, as what seems to be normal for me. With no lyrics, no name, and no ability to coherently reconstruct the song from memory, my only choice was to wait for the tune to come to me…and it would, but only on certain occasions. Maybe it has to do with its galloping tribal beat or its heavy use of vibrato, but I associate the tune with battle…but only a certain type of battle.

Recently, we tuned to a streaming surf rock station on my girlfriend’s laptop. Surf rock is, by in large, wordless and nice to have in the background while doing other things…cool, even badass without being overly distracting. It isn’t overly distracting…unless, of course…that certain song comes on. I’m sure you can imagine my reaction when thirty or so seconds into it, I caught on to what I was hearing. With a racing heart and shaking hands, I scrambled to the laptop to see the name of the song and artist before it was gone…gone for good. I felt an eerie shiver up my spine as I read the title. The song that haunted me…the one that came to me in times of distress, in fight or flight situations and in dreams…the one that occasionally came into mind as a fleeting, ghostlike snippet finally had a name! Apache.

Now that it had a name, I vowed to learn as much about it as possible. It was originally recorded in 1960. In name and in sound, the piece conjures up imagery of the American Old West but it was written by members of a British band called The Shadows.

So what does this all have to do with the Lego truck? Its a 1960 Chevy Apache panel truck and shares the same name and year as the song.

Among some very tricky build techniques, it also features a fully detailed engine, spring suspension, opening rear delivery style doors, an accurate looking gas can, Native feathers hanging from the rear view mirror, specially designed suicide doors and a tricky diamond patterned interior reminiscent of diamondback rattlesnakes.

This was built for the LUGNuts 2nd Anniversary Challenge that gave us the freedom to build from any challenge of the previous year. Conveniently, this fit within the “Play That Funky Music” build challenge based on songs. So there you have it…a cool new truck to look at and hopefully a newly rediscovered old song for your playlist. Thanks for reading.

I cropped it a tad (yes, it’s longer than this even) and you can read the full description when you click the pictures. Warning, there is some language kids.

Here is the Diamond interior:

Let’s pop the hood:

And here’s the song that haunted Lino for so long:

You’ll have to look at the full set of images to really appreciate all the details. Great job Lino! :)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “1960 Chevy Apache and the story behind it”

  1. Lino Says:

    Yep, I don’t often use bad words in my writing, in fact I mostly avoid them. But as the fight or flight scene I portrayed was unfolding, in terms of impact, poetic license, and the sort of low down, bluesy feel the writing had, I just couldn’t go without it. Its just one of those rare cases that sort of warrants it, I guess.

    But thank you for seeing past that and posting it here and seeing it for the art that it is. I appreciate it greatly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

