Art Hop 2010

by

Hi all, I’m up in Banning, California for Art Hop 2010 happening tomorrow, May 1st.

One of the main sponsors of the event is Waste Management and because of that they asked me to make a replica of one of their garbage trucks.

Now normally I leave car building to Lino Martins of LUGNuts. Its not that I can’t do it, I’m just not a car person. But a model is a model and so I present the LEGO Waste Management Garbage Truck:

P1200524

I was sent a scale replica toy truck as to work off from. (It’s the smaller one.) :D

P1200496

For some reason I found it a bit tricky to get started on this model and so instead of starting the prototype from the bottom I started from the top. Figuring out all the intricacies of the vehicle was a fun challenge. And, since the toy had two garbage cans with it I had to make LEGO ones too. ;)

P1200525

The model is about 18 inches long and took me around a week to design and build. You can see the full set of images on Flickr. I find it pretty funny that I happen to make a garbage truck just when LEGO is releasing an offical Toy Story 3 garbage truck.

If you are in the Riverside area, come by and visit me at my booth and say hi!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Art Hop 2010”

  1. Craig Littleton Says:

    My 8 year old son is completely obsessed with Waste Management. Is your design of this truck something that you are offering for others to duplicate? It would make my son’s day, week, month, year, millenium…..etc.

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

