LEGO Prince of Persia: Quest Against Time Review

by

I know this set, heck even the movie, has been out for a while. But even so, I felt that this set needed a review.

I was going to take pictures of my set, but Dita Svelte has taken such wonderful images that I am going to use them instead. ;)

I have to admit, I wasn’t really interested in this set. I had all of the other Prince of Persia sets, but this one didn’t look that great. Even after I saw the movie, I didn’t quite understand what this set was all about. Without giving away plot points, the sets aren’t all that accurate to the movie and this one most of all.

I can see why the set designers did what they did, there are lots of “moving” parts like the swinging swords and the rotating blade (which isn’t in the movie by the way).

The light up brick is cool looking and all, but even so, it wasn’t going to tempt me to buy the set.

So, why did I end up buying it? Well, when I was at BrickWorld at the Scratch and Dent LEGO Store Sale that was one of the sets I got. It wasn’t one of my first or even third choices, but as I was in one of the later groups, I didn’t have as much to chose from.

I figured, heck why not? I knew it had some pretty cool parts, especially the lion bricks in nougat — the only set that has them in that color.

But as I sat down and actually built the set yesterday I realized that even if the set is kind of a mess design wise, there are a lot of very useful parts in this set.

Lots of dark bluish gray slopes, dark tan tiles, and great nougat elements come in abundance. The large 8×8 dark tan plates are also a plus.

So overall, I may not like the set itself, but I see it as a great parts pack. All in all the Prince of Persia line is a great theme. Now that I have all five sets, and multiples of more than one of the sets, I highly recommend them. :)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “LEGO Prince of Persia: Quest Against Time Review”

  1. Tar Says:

    I am going to have to get this set just for the Light up Fire and the Lion Bricks. I am still looking for the lego minifigs at stores….

  2. Katie Says:

    I just ordered two of these on sale. I’m hoping I’ll like the parts in it. I think I will, based on the inventories, but you never know till they’re all out in front of you….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

