BrickStix Decals

by

Have you ever heard of BrickStix? Well neither had I until a friend of mine on Facebook shared a link with me about the 11 year old boy who invented them.

Here’s Greyson MacLean’s story:

Greyson loves to build! When he was nine years old, he was frustrated with the stickers that came with brick sets. If he put them on, he couldn’t get them off. Plus, they were limited. He wanted to customize his brick creations into different stories, but he was at a loss. He needed stickers that could be detached and reused just like his bricks. Some days he wanted a brick to be a newspaper, another day a clock, a control panel, a window… He told his mom about the problem. He told her he wanted to be able to add details to his builds, and have the ability to change his mind and make something else. She thought it was a great idea. So Greyson’s Mom, Dad, Aunt and Uncle started working. They had meetings at their kitchen table. They talked to Greyson’s sisters and other kids when they designed the first set of Stix, and BrickStix were born. Now kids can customize their build into a masterpiece.

Via: BrickStix.com

Much like Colorforms — I have to admit, I had to look that one up, even if I did have a set when I was a kid :D — BrickStix are vinyl decals that can be placed, taken off and then replaced over and over again. I honestly can’t believe this has never been done before for LEGO. It makes a lot more sense than constantly sticking stickers on a brick or tile and then never being able to use that same element as anything other than what the sticker is for. I personally hate putting stickers on for that very reason, much like Greyson I want the option to change my mind. ;)

They have a really cute video showcasing their products

BrickStix currently comes in three different sets — Metro, Transport, and Space. Each set comes with 84 decals (two of each type) and a handy board to put them on when not in use. The price is very reasonable at $5.99 a set and you can order them online or purchase them at one of the retail stores that currently carry them.


BrickStix was gracious enough to send me samples of their products and I tried them out for a test run. So, what’s my assessment? Well as some of them are pretty small they don’t always stay on unless they are pressed firmly. But the mere fact that you can take them off and on is a plus in my book. The low price point is another plus and the background of the decal is clear, so that you can place them on any color brick and the image is clearly seen.

My only complaint is that the 1×2 on work only the side of bricks, not on the top of tiles (they are just a tad too wide). My only other complaint was that some of the images were a little bit cartoony. But again, as it is made for kids that’s okay. ;)

I highly recommend this product, and the fact that it was invented by a kid makes it even that more awesome in my book! According to the BrickWorld website they will be there as a vendor. But if you can’t make it there, you can always order them online. So check out BrickStix for yourself!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “BrickStix Decals”

  1. Jayko Says:

    Wow, this is so awesome! (Maybe they could also provide blank sheets for custom stickers?) The funny thing is, my mom just mentioned this a week or so ago! I’m so glad someone came up with this, and is producing it. Hope he does well with this!

  2. business review Says:

    If they were printed youd have panels that would look rather ridiculous on MOCs and would have to be placed very specifically to fit in. I may not like techinc that much but I love stickers!…………………………………………… Is that the concern about stickers or is it just aesthetic or something else?……………………………………………

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

