Star Wars Wedding Cake Topper

by

A few days ago I was asked two questions in an email –
1. Do I make bi-racial couples
2. Can I do theme cake toppers.

Naturally my response was yes to both. :)

I love the requests I get from people because sometimes I end up making things I wouldn’t make otherwise. So, I created this:

Leia and Stormtrooper Wedding Cake Topper 1

Leia and Stormtrooper Wedding Cake Topper 2

Now I have to admit, I did not make the Stormtrooper helmet. My brother actually designed that and then challenged me to make a full Miniland scale Stormtrooper. He also designed a very cool Darth Vader helmet, but that I’ll leave for another post. ;)

I also drilled into the 1×1 green plates to make the flowers. But as I mentioned in a previous post, sometimes its necessary. The main reason this time was not so the Princess Leia would have a funky bouquet of flowers, but because the bride specifically asked for lime green and purple. And, as LEGO only makes official flowers in a handful of colors, drilling 1×1 round plates was a good solution. Especially as I have a huge bag of them that I got from Pick A Brick.

With the new Star Wars Miniland area at LEGOLAND now open, I’m thinking about creating a whole bunch of the iconic characters. Oh, and here’s a fun fact — when we had Miniland Florida at LEGOLAND California we actually had Han Solo and Princess Leia hidden in the cluster by the Rocket Garden. We also had Agent J and K of the Men in Black with very shiny weapons looking for alien threats. :D

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Star Wars Wedding Cake Topper”

  1. Darth Vader and Amidala Wedding Cake Topper « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] the heels of my earlier Star Wars Wedding Cake Topper, or more accurately because of it, I was asked to create the iconic symbol of the Dark Side Darth […]

  2. readordie518 Says:

    How much would something like this cost if you were to sell?

  3. Mariann Asanuma Says:

    I sell all my wedding cake toppers on Etsy.

  4. Cameron Says:

    INSTRUCTIONS PLEASE!’! its awesome, really wanna build it :)

  5. Alicia Says:

    I’d like to buy this exact set however did not see on your Etsy site. Do you still have????

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

