Organized Sorter

by

Here’s my more meticulous side. ;)
Organized Sorter

Most of my builds, especially big ones like my current project, generally start like this. Neatly organized bins, the bricks just waiting to fulfill their Christmas Destiny” (as my sister always says, even when its not Christmas :D ) of being used in some awesome creation.

As you can see, the bricks are mostly white or trans-clear. I’m not going all minimalist or monochrome, it just happens that this particular model is all white. Even so, my model does have a bit of color hidden inside.

A Bit of Color

There is a very simple reason I add colored bricks on the inside, and no, its not just so I know that they are there. The real reason is that I want to save my white bricks and plates where they need to be seen, on the outside, so where ever I need to have bricks that can’t be seen, but have to be there I change them to a color I have a large supply of.

That’s not to say I haven’t hidden things in my models before.

Fun fact: The 8-foot Star Wars Republic Attack Cruiser LEGO model has a hidden section on the side where the Star Wars characters are watching Lord of the Rings.

How do I know this? Erik is a friend of mine and I was there when the model was being built at the American LEGO Headquarters in 2005. He showed me the secret room in the model. ;)

Do you put “easter eggs” in your models?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Organized Sorter”

  1. Purple Dave Says:

    My first Moonbase module has a skeleton under the boardwalk, an owl caught in a spiderweb, and several more owls that are all looking directly at Matt Groening’s head in a jar. There’s also a booth up top where they’re selling mugs of water out of a barrel, and a couple guys down below filling barrels out of the swimming pool reservoir tanks. My third Moonbase module (a robot-ninja dojo) has Jar-Jar chained to a support column in the foundation, which has no doors or windows, and is not built to be easily accessed.

    I do similar stuff to any MichLUG layout that I participate in, like putting out several scenes with Batman characters, a UFO that’s abducting someone, and a pair of S1 Crash Test Dummies that crunched a black sports car against a tree stump. That last one will be on my car display at Brickworld this year.

  2. TheBrickBlogger Says:

    LOL! Now I won’t be able to look at LEGO models the same way! I will always wonder what might be hiding inside! :D

  3. AA(Noname) Says:

    Not yet, but I will!

  4. LEGO Perot Museum of Science and Nature « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    [...] been hinting since May with teaser pics and building tips for two months. And now the final model can be [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

