BrickWorld 2011 Recap part 1

by

Well as you can clearly tell my plan to cover the whole of BrickWorld while there pretty much failed miserably. That’s what happens when you stay up every night of the convention talking to friends from all over the world (literally) and then getting up at 7 or 8 am the next morning each and every day of the Con. I didn’t have time for all the presentations, challenges and events that were offered, there was just too much going on. But I still had a wonderful time all around!

P1260492
I did attend Roy Cook’s Advanced Mosaic’s workshop. It was very informative and I learned a lot more about that style of mosaic building. Its not really the kind I build, but I love to learn all the different styles. :)

I have to say, his Halle Berry mosaic was stunning and rightly deserved the trophy!
P1260483

One of the amazing things I was truly looking forward to seeing in person was my friend Ryan Mcnaught’s Love Boat. Ryan is Australia’s first LEGO Certified Professional and a great guy to boot!

P1260505

I liked how he put all kinds of great scenes in the boat (sorry for the poor picture quality)
P1260750

I even stood still long enough for someone to take our picture:
P1260801

The truly awesome thing was that Princess Cruse Lines found out about the Love Boat model and brought Gavin Macleod, Captain Stubing himself, along and he signed the boat!
P1260802

This just the first installment of all my BrickWorld goings-on. I’ll be posting more pictures, and more comments soon. :)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “BrickWorld 2011 Recap part 1”

  1. Rocket Man « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    [...] for his Love Boat and Qantus Airbus, Ryan is familiar with making big models. But his newest model the Saturn V [...]

  2. LEGO “Elvis” « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    [...] year’s model was a Saturn V rocket and the year before that the Love Boat. So Ryan building big isn’t all a surprise to me, he just had me waiting on the edge of my [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

