LEGO Minecraft — Its here!

by

21102 LEGO Minecraft - 1

In an almost unprecedented product development and turnaround the LEGO Minecraft model is now available for preorder on the LEGO Minecraft Facebook page for $35 USD.

I have it on good authority that the two iconic characters Steve and the Creeper have printed on faces, which just might be a first — side printed LEGO plates for Steve’s face.

As I don’t know anything at all about Minecraft, other than what it looks like, I’m not exactly excited for these sets. To me I’d call it a 1×1 tile parts pack for the greens, brown and tan.

But with the price point, its not exactly a deal. The 480 parts average out to $0.14 $0.07 a piece with only the decorated elements unique to the set (I did my math wrong sorry). I guess for Minecraft fans, which there are obviously more than 10,000 that wanted it turned into a set through Cuusso, this is exciting news. For me however, not so much.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “LEGO Minecraft — Its here!”

  1. Matthew Hocker Says:

    I know what you mean. I’m not exactly excited about this one either but, to be honest, I think Lego made a good set for what its worth. Micro was the better route, as I don’t know if a larger set would have been more marketable.

    The price point is kind of a turn off, but I guess Lego CUUSOO was designed to churn out more exclusive products at a premium price. I’m sure a ton of MineCraft fans will happily dish out their $$ for this. Or maybe we will get lucky and it will turn up on sale at shop at home a few months after release. ;-) How many were they planning on making?

    I like the concept behind Lego CUUSOO…I would have preferred the Delorean to Minecraft. Plus, there are a ton of other cool models there that get burried away like this cool Citroen: http://lego.cuusoo.com/ideas/view/1624

    I put the street organ up, by the way: http://lego.cuusoo.com/ideas/view/8464
    :-) I don’t know how much interest there would be in something like that, but I think it could be a small, cheap set. Maybe $5 US?

  2. Jason Spears Says:

    Um.. 480 pieces for $35 works out to $0.073 which isn’t that bad. Although most of the pieces are small, it is below the golden $0.10 each that we normally hope for. While I’ve got no interest in Mindcraft, the part look good, I’m waiting on an inventory to see if I want to pick up some grey brick and tile packs.

  3. Mariann Asanuma Says:

    I did my math wrong. I divided the numbers the opposite of how you are supposed to and that’s how I got the numbers, thanks for pointing that out. I’ll change the post. :)

  4. Purple Dave Says:

    On the side-printed plates, I think you’re right, but short of someone being familiar with a previous instance, proving it one way or the other would require digging through the Bricklink or Peeron part categories. As for the parts themselves, yeah, the abundance of 1×1 tiles is probably the most interesting bit for non-Minecrafting AFOLS, but since the only two colors I’d have regular use for are blue and trans-red, that’s pretty much a bust for me.

  5. Pez Says:

    I agree that at a first look, the price point seems great at about 7 cents each. This is similar to the micro modular street set that just came out this year, but that set has a ratio of .058 cents. However, the ‘golden ratio’ is better applied to normal sets with large parts and usually some minifigs. Outside of the 8 medium-ish plates, the largest part is the occasional 1×4 brick. The parts get smaller and smaller from there. Outside of a basic printing on 2 parts, there is nothing special here. No new molds, few rare-ish colors, and the most ‘special’ part is the tecnic axle hole brick. Yes this grasps the minecraft genre well enough but I think that the only draw to this set will be the 1×1′s tiles, assuming you have a need for the specific colors it has. Decent, but not all that great

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

