Bricks by the Bay — Less than a Month Away

by

There is just under a month away until Bricks by the Bay comes once again to Santa Clara, California. There are only ten more full attendee spots left open until we reach the 400 attendee limit. For those that miss out on being a full attendee, they can still come to the Public Day on Sunday, March 18th from 10 am -4 pm. If you are on the fence about getting an attendee badge, I have to say — What are you waiting for?! :D

I have to admit, the reason I chose this particular picture was because it features my 5 foot long Golden Gate Bridge that I brought last year. And no, I won’t be bringing again this year. Unlike some who bring the same models year after year, I have a one year rule for models. I display them for a year, take them to some of the LEGO Cons I attend, and then I “retire” them. But don’t worry, the Golden Gate bridge won’t be broken up, at least not more than the designed sections that it comes apart into.

I will however be bringing my Remembering 9/11 mosaic
Remembering 9 / 11

I am also the Art coordinator, so I’ll be creating the trophies this year. And no, I won’t be nominating myself. ;)

For those of you in the Mid-West who can’t make it to Bricks by the Bay, there is BrickWorld Indy in Indianapolis, Indiana
the week before on March 10th and 11th at the Indiana Convention Center.

And of course, because Bricks by the Bay is less than a month away, I am furiously working at getting all my product ready to sell! Which is naturally taking a lot of my time up from writing this blog. :(

I keep trying to go back to daily, but as I get busier it seems to get harder to keep this up. But never fear, even if I don’t write it every day, I have no plans on stopping. I love writing this blog! :)

So for those of you who are coming, I look forward to seeing you! And for those that can’t make it, I will do my best to cover the convention and all the LEGO-y goodness.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Bricks by the Bay — Less than a Month Away”

  1. Purple Dave Says:

    I’m of a similar mind on repeat displaying, but not nearly to the same extent. If it’s a set of MOCs, I’m not bringing it back to the same show unless there has been some significant addition to the group since the last time I took it. If it’s a show that I haven’t done before, everything is fair game. If it’s part of a MichLUG group display, we don’t have nearly the kind of turnover it would require to shelve MOCs one year after they made their first appearance.

  2. Mariann Asanuma Says:

    Perhaps I should have clarified a little, if I haven’t brought it to that show before, I will bring it. But I go to 4-5 shows a year now through out the US. So I take the model to all the shows, and then retire them.

    I do reuse models for SandLUG and LUGOLA displays when needed. Although we have a pretty concentrated pool of talent with half of SandLUG being current or former Master Model Builders and professional model makers in the LA area.

  3. Purple Dave Says:

    Now, do you leave them all constructed, or do you ever tear them down to recycle the parts? We have both types in MichLUG, with me mostly falling into the former category. I used to call a MOC done and leave it as is, but lately with about 40 cars in my collection, I’ve started figuring out new techniques that result in much sturdier construction, so I’ve been going back and tweaking some of the older ones to include the changes where they make sense. I’ve also been swapping out a lot of parts as double-cheeses, 2×4 tiles, and 1×3 tiles have become available in a wider range of colors and I can clean up some of the surfaces (still waiting on the 1×5 and 1×7 tiles…but not holding my breath). I can’t think of any full MOCs that I’ve scrapped, though.

    Anyways, I kinda figured that was how you’d do it. Besides, if someone was coming to an event for the first time I’m sure most of us would much rather see what they consider to be their best work than just whatever they’ve built in the past year.

    As for club events, we’ve got a builder who specializes in Detroit-area landmarks, so they continue to be popular no matter how many times they’ve been to a given non-AFOL event. And given the sheer size of these things (one is larger enough to fit two people, and another which he recently rebuilt could probably hold almost half a dozen if you arranged them the right way). We also do a ton of shows every year, with 2010 being the record-holder at a total of 26 official club appearances (possibly not including Brickworld because the club did not have a layout there), and two consecutive Sundays where we had four different shows taking place on the same day. With a schedule that busy, there are some members who try to get to as many of those as possible, and others who only hit a few each year. And even though many MOCs continue to show up year after year, every layout is unique.

  4. Mariann Asanuma Says:

    My larger mosaics I try to keep together, but I have taken a couple apart. To create my 9/11 mosaic I had to take apart two of my company logo mosaics — the Comic Con sign and the LEGO Batman sign (not the picture) — because I needed the black parts. I take enough pictures of the model that I can put it back together again if I ever need to.

    Sadly my more impressive and large models are never seen at shows, as they go to my clients. So my 2 ft and larger buildings never make it.

    Also, as none of the shows are close to me, Bricks by the Bay being the closest at 8 hours away by car. I fly to most of them. And as most of my large models, like my mosaics actually take up half a large suitcase — and yes I do fly with my models — I can only bring a small number of models to begin with. I still have my Obama and Batman mosaics, as well as my Golden Gate Bridge, but there would be no room for my clothes or products to sell at the shows.

    That’s the main reason for my one year rule. I build so many models every year that I simply can’t bring all of my cool models to every show.

    I agree that several people like to show their best item, thus bringing them year after year, which is fine. But I personally don’t like showing the same items year after year. I would get bored with my own models.

    I mainly do only LEGO Cons, but I do participate at several smaller shows such as Star Wars Days at LEGOLAND, the community window at my local LEGO stores, etc. Some of my commissioned work is on permanent public display such as my hospital wing at Scripps Encinitas.

    I don’t participate with my local train club mainly because I don’t build standard town or train models. I rarely build in minifig scale at all. Again, there’s nothing wrong with minifig scale, I just don’t build it often.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

