Bricks by the Bay 2012 Recap

by

Okay, so its a tad late, but I’ve finally found a bit of breathing space to sit down and talk about Bricks by the Bay 2012.

P1320453

As always, I love going to LEGO Cons! They are just downright fun and I love hanging out with friends. :)

I did make a bit of a mistake this year though, I agreed to do too much!

Not only was I a vendor as always, but I also agreed to give 2 presentations and participate in 2 panels as well as being the Art Theme coordinator.

P1320360

And although I did love making the Art trophies, I wasn’t very good at coordinating, mainly because I wasn’t there. :(

That coupled with a semi-accident while driving up there — don’t worry, I didn’t get hurt or anything, but I did puncture 2 tires and have to get a whole set of new ones 400 miles from home — kind of wore me out.

I had planned to drive back down to Southern California on Monday, but I totally underestimated my exhaustion factor. I ended up staying up there one more day and checked out the Winchester Mystery House, which was only a few miles from the convention — I see a potential MOC, that’s all I’m saying. ;)

Needless to say, I won’t be doing as much next year.

One of my favorite models this year was Bill Ward’s Kermit
BBTB 2012: Kermit

I was happy he won my Supreme Sculptor Art Award. :D
P1320382

And it was no surprise that Norbert Labuguen almost exclusively swept the Bionicle category.

P1200191

I really liked this Tron model
P1320407

I didn’t get nearly enough pictures, but Bill Ward took quite a few. ;)

As seems to be common now, I didn’t get to see or do everything I wanted too, but even so, it was the fun start to my LEGO Con season.

Oh yes, it is a season of conventions for me this year. Not only am I planning on going to 5 LEGO Cons, 2 Comic Cons, but also one or two other Cons this year! I’m not complaining mind you, I’m just looking at a very hectic year. I was already planning all these trips in January, and since they go till October I was a little amazed that my year was already so full! :D

Hopefully I’ll do a little better reporting at my next convention. I will be working a commission at a convention next month, and if I’m allowed, I’ll post about it, but I have to wait and see if I get permission.

One fun fact I can say about it is that it will be in Florida and since I’ll be down there any way, I plan on visiting LEGOLAND Florida and the LEGO Downtown Disney store to check out all the cool models with my own eyes. Of course I’ll be checking out the other theme parks as well, especially as the trip just happens to fall on my birthday. ;)

In May I’ll be at the Phoenix Comicon. I’ll have some of my LEGO models on display with the local LEGO LUG and if I have time, a new mosiac for the event. So I will certainly be talking about that as it gets closer.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Bricks by the Bay 2012 Recap”

  1. Justin McAleece Says:

    Great write up! It was a fantastic extended weekend and a lot of fun. We were able to shoot a lot of great footage for our film and everyone was super nice. Here’s a link to video wrapup if anyone wants to check it out.

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Brick-MADNESS/10150127141245075?ref=nf

  2. Justin McAleece Says:

    BTW I’m sorry we never got a chance to talk again like we did last year Mariann. We’ll definitely get with you again soon. Thanks!

  3. Chris Says:

    I really want to go to a LEGO con. The next one I can find near me is Brickfair in Alabama next Jan, but it might conflict with a comic book con where I vend.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

