Useful Shapes for Cheese Slope Mosaics

by

Wow, two weeks of no posts. That’s what happens when you go to three conventions in four weeks! It was a little much, but thankfully I have a few weeks to take a breather before the San Diego Comic Con and then a couple more weeks before BrickFair. I’m glad that I’m busy, but it does take a lot out of a person!

Useful Shapes for Cheese Slope Mosaics

Any how, Katie Walker has come up with an awesome how to on cheese slope mosaic techniques.

Rectangle Dimensions (for Cheese Slope Mosaics)

I may be an expert mosaic maker, but I have nothing on Katie when it comes to cheese slopes!

I like seeing people’s fantastic techniques, but I really like when they share how they do it. That’s why I called my company Model Building Secrets, so that I could share the “secrets” of LEGO building with the world.

Now that I’m back, I plan on posting about Phoenix Comicon, BricksCascade, and BrickWorld and finally what I did back in Florida.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Useful Shapes for Cheese Slope Mosaics”

  1. Purple Dave Says:

    I think the cheese slope became my new favorite part several years ago. Up until the release of the new SUV fender earlier this year, the single cheese, along with the older fender, and both the left and right 1x3x2 car doors, were the four parts that I absolutely had to have in a single color in order to even be able to attempt making one of my cars with that body color. Now, I actually prefer the double cheese because it gives a cleaner look than two singles side-by-side, and they seem to be immune to splitting at the tip like the singles do so often, but there are too many instances where a single is the only option.

    Anyways, looking over the pics, I’m seeing a different pattern used in the largest triangle vs. the long, flat one right above it, and I’m wondering if it would be possible to take three instances of that long, flat triangle and combine them into a large equilateral triangle of the same size as the one that’s shown. Also, looking through the numbers, I’m guessing those are mm dimensions shown. It looks like any tile/cheese combination simply adds the numbers from the tiles-only and cheese-only lines, but that means the bottom one should actually be 10.4 x 5, right?

  2. Katie Walker Says:

    Hi!

    First off, I should say there is an error on the last rectangle, which I am going to fix now, and replace the photo. It should say 10.4. (At least two people have caught my error now!)

    Secondly, the numbers are in half-plates, or fifth-studs, or whatever you like to call them.

    Thirdly, thank you for the write-up!

    Fourthly, this is for an article about cheese slope mosaics. I’m almost done. I’ll link to it when I am.

    I’ll go back and look at the previous comment a bit more, once I’ve fixed my mistake. ;-)

  3. Katie Walker Says:

    I fixed my error, and replaced the photo, and I came to check to see if it still links to the correct version. I know if you make a photo private, flickr will change the address, but I thought it’d be okay with a straight-up replacement. However, it’s not working, so I don’t know if you need to re-link to the fixed version, or if it will start working in a bit….

    Sorry for the trouble! ;-D

  4. Katie Walker Says:

    Okay, regarding the triangle comment, about the large one and the one above it…. Three of the one above would make the same size of triangle… the only difference would be which vertex of the hexagon would touch which part of the outer surrounding areas. There are two different kinds of vertices for the hexagon (one kind is comprised of two cheese slopes coming together; the other is just with one slope).

    And now my 3-year old is demanding attention, so off I go! ;-)

  5. Mariann Asanuma Says:

    Thanks for all the extra tips Katie!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

