“Building a winning business” at Focus 12 Conference

by

I know, I’ve been MIA yet again on my blog. That seems to be happening more and more this year. I can’t really complain though, getting more large commissions is a good thing. ;)

So any how. The reason I’ve been offline is I’ve been too busy building. I was contacted by the John Hancock company to do their logo a a financial conference called Focus 12 here in San Diego. The reason they wanted a LEGO model was because their theme was “building a winning business.”

DSC01312

The trickiest thing about this mosaic was the fact that it was in cursive and I decided to make it as “studless” as possible — in other words, showing as few studs as I could. Of course making it studless and using normal (well normal for me :D ) twisting and turning techniques made the model much more complicated than it could have been. But it looks sooooo much better because of that.

Here’s a close-up
DSC01340
And for those that are wondering the model is 4 feet long and 2 feet tall.

They also asked me to build some giant LEGO bricks with words on them
DSC01314
The 2×4 giant brick is 11 inches long x 5 inches wide x 4 inches tall. The small black bricks with their logo on it are clone bricks with printing on them.

The funny thing was that because of the theme, not only John Hancock wanted LEGO at their booth. I was contacted by a second company, Deutsche Bank, thanks to LEGO and asked if I could help them with their LEGO mystery mosaic building event.

DSC01301

Now obviously I couldn’t be in two places at once so I did the next best thing and recruited my brother Mike Asanuma. It may be hard to believe, but I’m not the only master model builder in my family. Mike creates special effects models and does illustrations and toy design up in Los Angeles, California. He just happened to be available for the weekend.

DSC01321 That’s Mike if you can’t see the family resemblance.

A fun bonus of working the convention was a private Journey concert!!!!
DSC01220

DSC01136

And a total surprise was seeing LEGO Certified Professional Sean Kenney
DSC01316

Sean was hired by Wells Fargo to create a San Diego Trolley. It was kind of funny because I got an email from him on the second day of the event and he mentioned my John Hancock mosaic in the email saying

“Nice job so far! I’m across the aisle at wells Fargo :)

We’ve emailed back and forth and we keep in contact through Facebook but I hadn’t seen him in person for about 10 years! So it was nice to actually chat in person with him for a few hours.

So last weekend was pretty cool. It was so funny that there were three LEGO models at the convention and that Sean, Mike and I were able be involved.

And on the heals of that event, I’ve got another one coming up next week. I’ll be posting about that one a little later. ;)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to ““Building a winning business” at Focus 12 Conference”

  1. Lego king Says:

    Don’t stop believing!

    Cool build! Any guesstimates on number of pieces? Weight?

    How can I get a large quantity of grey bricks for a castle my son and his friend are planning?

    • Mariann Asanuma Says:

      The best place for a large quantity of grey is Bricklink. And of course check your local LEGO store if you have one. They might have a good stock of grey in their pick a brick.

  2. theBrickBlogger Says:

    That John Hancock logo is very-very impressive. You even have the little “R” in there! Amazing job! :D

  3. LEGO Google Chrome Logo « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] and I was actually working the event for John Hancock when I got contacted by Google, so it was a fun […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

