Even LEGO “trash” can be used in a model

by

Chapter 026

I don’t fully know what’s going on here. I do know that this picture is part of a set called Twisted Tales by Bart Willen. But what caught my eye was the vines on the building.

Most of the vines consist of the “trash” sprue that comes on this part.

If you have the part you know what I mean. There is a sort of triangle ring that holds all 3 leaves together and protects them from bending or breaking quite as much until you build with it. I’ve kept mine for years but never really knew what to do with them until now.

This may not be the first person to do it, but I’ve never seen it before and I like finding new ways to use old parts. :)

The whole set of pictures has some really great building techniques in them and I recommend reading the story as well. ;)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Even LEGO “trash” can be used in a model”

  1. Purple Dave Says:

    Well, I didn’t have the specifics figured out at all, but I see that at least I was right in that it has _something_ to do with Sleeping Beauty. I mean, everyone laying around a table like that, they could be asleep or dead, but throw in the tangle of vines growing everywhere and it’s a solid bet.

    Anyways, the interesting thing about this is that not only can you flip the piece over to double the look, but you can also cut the piece at any point, which gives you a massive amount of variance from the look of one vine to the next.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

