Paintbrush

by

Hi all, I know I’ve been off the blog for quite a while now, almost a month in fact. If you’ve been following me on Model Building Secrets Facebook page (and you really should ;) ) then you’ll know that I’ve been working on a huge project, 4 ft long huge to be exact. I am almost done with it, and should get back to more normal postings within a day or so.

Now I’m not into April Fool’s, so the only “prank” I’m going to play is that I won’t tell you what I’m working on. What I will tell you is that I will be at PAX East in Boston next weekend building my current project on site. So if you are going, come by and say hi.

Even though I don’t like April Fool’s Day, I did like this latest creation by Sean and Steph Mayo.

Paintbrush

At first it took me a moment to realize it was in fact actually LEGO. from the thumbnail I saw it totally looked like a paintbrush that had fallen onto the floor. The end of the paintbrush was what threw me, I had to figure out what it was. And then I saw that it was a Duplo grass part!

Examples like this remind me to never discount any LEGO part. You never know when it just might be the right one you need. :D

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Paintbrush”

  1. Purple Dave Says:

    I always thought this was first used as fire (that being the first time I ever spotted it in a set photo). I put five of the white ones to use every year during our winter shows, as a wall of ice created by Mr. Freeze, so I actually recognized the part right away once my brain paid attention to the fact that it’s not, in fact, a real paintbrush. The X-Pod lid stood out right away due to the 2×2 stud pattern, but for some reason the first thought I had when I saw it was wondering why someone would paint one of those lids green.

  2. brickplate Says:

    Reblogged this on NYCLUG and commented:
    An inspirational building technique — not to mention a great gag to pull on April Fools day!

  3. Lisa Asanuma Says:

    That is pretty fantastic.

  4. Gretchen Says:

    So cool. You could have a lot of fun with that. It looks real!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

