An old friend, a long way away.

by



Lego pirate dog

Originally uploaded by JC-canon

I found this image posted by JC-canon on Flickr. It was taken at the LEGOLAND in Billund, Denmark.

What is so very cool about this particular model is that I actually designed this model when I was working at LEGOLAND California. I’ve known that some of my models have been copied and put into the other parks, but its nice to have photographic evidence. šŸ˜‰

This is what is known as a double up model. The actual model that I designed was 1/4 th the size. This is a technique Master Model Builders use to make a bigger model faster. Once the model is designed, you “double-up” every model. So a 1×1 plate becomes 2 2×2 plates stacked up.

The model’s official name (at least the one that I gave it) is Patches the Peg-leg Pirate Puppy. He is still one of my favorite models that I made when I was there.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

