Charming Charm City Cakes

by

I’m a big fan of the TV show “Ace of Cakes” on the Food Network. Last year, I also found out that Duff Goldman, the star and owner of Charm City Cakes really likes LEGO. Because I like the show so much and I love how much joy they bring to people every day, I contacted them and offered to make them a mosaic of their company logo. They said that they would love to have it. It took me about a week and a half to make the model. Because of the size, the only part I couldn’t easily produce in LEGO was the flag at the top, so I made a vinyl sticker for that part.

I also made a Miniland Scale of Duff Goldman making one of his cakes. I thought about having him make a cake that looked less “cake-like,” since that is what he is known for. But I decided to go for a more “traditional” cake (albeit in bright colors) so that you could tell it was a cake. I also gave Mini Duff the tools of his craft — a knife, a circular saw, and a blowtorch. Mini Duff was glued, except for his arms and head so that he can be posed for either working on the cake or jamming on his guitar. I also added an extra head wearing a baseball cap backwards, like Duff often does.

I also sent Duff a copy of my book and because I didn’t want to leave the rest of the bakery out of it, I gave everyone of them a blue heart keychain.

I sent the model to them last year in November and they emailed me back saying that they thought it was really cool and that they would keep it in “a place of honor.” I was glad that they really liked it, but then when I was watching the show last week, I saw my model sitting on a table near the front door! It was pretty cool to see the model on TV, although it was in the background. I contacted them again and asked if I could mention it on my blog and they said “of course!” I really like it when people appreciate one of my models. šŸ˜‰

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

