Giant LEGO Ball Myth-busted!

by

On the newest episode of Discovery’s Mythbusters they test the Youtube Video myth of the giant “five million” piece LEGO ball that is rolled Indiana Jones style down a street in San Francisco.

From the first time I saw the original video I knew that it couldn’t really be real. Considering that I know a little about LEGO šŸ˜‰ I knew that an unglued LEGO ball wouldn’t roll without falling apart somewhat. And, since I have a pretty good idea how much a million LEGO bricks looks like, the five million claimed in the video sounded way off. I also found this link that shows the ball was actually just a foam ball with baseplates stuck to it.

My friend and fellow Master Model Builder Gary McIntire of LEGOLAND California, along with several of the BAYLug members, and Nathan Sawaya are seen on the show. There is a whole slew of pictures posted by Brickenrocker here.

To find out just what happened, you’ll have to watch Mythbusters. But I have to tell you, it was pretty cool! šŸ˜€

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

