Modulex now available on Bricklink

by

(photo by Zack Milenius )

Have you ever heard of Modulex LEGO bricks? Modulex bricks are smaller than LEGO LEGO. Confused? πŸ˜€ Well even now in this information age its still hard to find much out about modulex. I hadn’t even heard of them before a few years ago. As you can see in the picture, they are a smaller, more pastel version of LEGO bricks.

This is what Brickfetish has to say about Modulex:

In the early 1960’s Godtfred was building a new house and, naturally, he tried to model the structure with Lego bricks. The problem was that the Lego, with an aspect ratio of 6:5, was different than standard European construction modules of 1:1. Rather than contend with the problems of using regular Lego bricks he simply had new, special bricks molded for him. Bricks that would allow him to more closely copy his architectural plans.

These new bricks were based on a 5mm cube (1:1) and were about 5/8 the size of a standard Lego brick. After he finished his house model, Godtfred began to investigate the possibility of marketing these elements to architects and planners. In 1963 he created a new company, Modulex A/S.

The M20 system, their first product, was intended for architectural modelling and consisted of a range of bricks, slopes, tiles, baseplates, windows and letter tiles based on the 5mm cube and intended for 1:20 scale building (hence the name M20). The system also included several unusual items, such as baseplate foil, a foil comb and cutter, even solvent-based glue. The early elements were molded by Lego and had the familiar β€œLEGO” logo on the studs. Later elements had a simple β€œM” (for Modulex) on the studs.

So basically Modulex are a rare, older subdivision of LEGO that has been rather hard to find. Any how, back to my title announcement — Bricklink is finally selling modulex pieces. Now granted they can get pretty expensive with some of them being $.40 USD or more per piece, but at the same time, they only way to find them up till now has been the rare auction on Ebay. I don’t know if I’ll be buying any of these any time soon, but its good to know that they are available if I want them. πŸ™‚

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Modulex now available on Bricklink”

  1. Peter Says:

    Does anyone know where I can get an old Modulex Production planning set? My General Manager used one back in the 70’s and it is still a better way of planning production than any software program. Any help would be greatly appreciated,

    • Mariann Asanuma Says:

      Modulex sets are rare and expensive when you can find them. I am not an expert on Modulex sets in any way as they are before my time. You can find them sometimes on Ebay.

  2. Gail Says:

    I have several thousand pieces of modulex bricks, maybe 8 kilo in weight if you would like to contact me via email , i may be able to help you in your search.
    gailforce7@hotmail.com
    Gail

  3. Gail Says:

    I have counted the pieces since my last post, and have now a more accurate count of 25000 pieces of modulex .
    Gail
    gailforce7@hotmail.com

  4. Jiries Says:

    Hi Gail. I remember having those Modulex bricks in my old school, it seem that some architect donated this and i used it a lot and made models from it. I took 1 picture of it but at night when light was shone though the windows of the model flat that I build up copying my old flat I used to live. I took only few bricks with me home and still have it. I used regular lego a lot.

  5. Nick Says:

    @ Gail:

    I have been searching for Modulex bricks for quite some time now, and was wondering if you still had any of those 8 kilos of modulex?

Leave a Reply

