2010 LEGO Toy Story Sets Unveiled at D23

by


Photo Credit: just JENN

D23, a all Disney all the time convention up right across from Disneyland at the Anaheim Convention Center is going on this weekend. I don’t know much about it to be honest, but I do know that over at the LEGO booth they unveiled the new LEGO Toy Story Sets. I also know they have some kind of building event going on (the Model Builder doing it told me).

When I first heard about LEGO creating Toy Story sets, I was wondering exactly what the sets would look like. I mean, would they be based off the movie scenes, but then I was having visions of overlarge bed posts, etc. to have it on a toy’s perspective.

I’m glad that they went a different route, making it more like the actual toys set and scenes such as Woody’s Round-up (the return of Western, sort of) set and Buzz’s Spaceship. Toys made as toys, what a concept. 😀

I also like the brick built Buzz and Zurg. The nice thing about Zurg is all the fun purple pieces that he comes with. So far, purple has been an under-used color in my opinion. Although I have to say that I can’t see much use for Buzz’s head other than in the set. I’m sure some one will prove me wrong, using it it some interesting way in the future.

I really like the little Army Men and their Jeep. It find it funny that LEGO neglected to give them green guns. I know that they don’t want to encourage violence (and nether do I), but at the same time, that is what the Army Men have — guns. They are Army Men after all! 😀

Seeing the sets makes me want to get them even more than when I saw just the figures. Makes me wonder if some of these will be available for the Christmas season. We’ll just have to wait and see.

You can join the forum on Eurobricks and see what others think of the sets.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “2010 LEGO Toy Story Sets Unveiled at D23”

  1. justJENN Says:

    I love that they look like the characters. The internet is all incensed because of the heads, but honestly, it works. And the kids just love it.

  2. Andrew Vdaen Says:

    this is the awsomest lego set in the world i cannot wait until they come out. im so EXCITED

Leave a Reply

