Peanut Butter Bricks Anyone?

by

Peanut Butter Bricks Anyone?

I was a little bored and in the mood for chocolate so I did a little experiment today. I tried my hand at LEGO peanut butter (chocolate) bricks.

I took the official LEGO ice cube tray (available on LEGO.com and at LEGO stores and LEGOLAND) and instead of water I put chocolate in the tray.

If you want to try this, here’s how you do this — (kids, get your parents help & permission) πŸ˜‰

What you need:

Melting chocolate or chocolate chips
Peanut Butter (or some other filling)
LEGO ice cube tray
Microwave
Freezer

I filled it like you would any chocolate mold using warm melted chocolate. Trying to get into all the knobs at the top and all the edges. Don’t worry if the tray gets messy, people won’t see the tray. πŸ˜‰ Then I popped it into the freezer for about 30 seconds to a minute (I didn’t really time myself πŸ˜› ).

After that I pulled back out and scooped out the still soft middle (if its too hard you can remelt it and just leave it in the freezer for a shorter time).

Then I added the peanut butter. You could add any filling you like, I used chunky peanut butter. Be sure not to over fill it, you need room for the chocolate to cover it. So after the peanut butter, add the chocolate (I re-warmed it for about 20 seconds in the microwave first) and fill it to the top. πŸ™‚

Pop it back into the freezer, wait a few minutes, and they’ll be ready!

Gently pry the chocolate from the mold, you can use a knife to trim the uneven edges.

Frankly chocolate works a lot better than water. The fact that it is a soft silicone tray makes it hard to keep the water in the tray while you move it from the sink to the freezer.

They taste really good and are super easy. Try it for yourself. I didn’t get all the knobs filled in quite right, but for a first try, I’m pretty happy with it. πŸ˜€

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Peanut Butter Bricks Anyone?”

  1. Minifig Ice Cube Tray « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] California for $6.99 USD. I haven’t tried it yet to see how well the ice cubes or even better chocolate does in this mold, but trust me, that is on my to do […]

  2. Tricky Treats « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] it led me to the Sugar Swings blog and how they were made. Its similar to the chocolate peanut butter bricks I made a couple of years […]

Leave a Reply

