Bricks by the Bay Day 1 Recap

by

Hi guys, I’m back! Well in the virtual world that is, I’m actually hundreds of miles away from home up at Bricks by the Bay in Freemont, California. I would have posted sooner but with so much to do and lack of sleep for the past week or so it just didn’t end up working out. 🙂

I will be posting about my big commission soon, but I felt that as I am actually at a LEGO convention, I should talk about that in this post.

So, where to begin? After a long, but fun late night drive up with my friend and fellow SandLUG (San Diego LEGO Users Group) member Tiffeny Nervig we arrived at the Freemont Marriott where Bricks by the Bay is being held. First we set up our models. Mine were relatively simple, even if my LEGO Batman Video Game mosaic did end up breaking into multiple pieces. Tiffeny’s very impressive Booty Bay had a little more work.

P1200289

It was brought in three sections, with a table to display it on, along with all my models, and all our other stuff in her very small Honda Fit. Now with all the LEGO we bought at the “ding and dent” sale on Friday night, I’m not sure how we are going to get it all into the car and back home. 😕

There were several panel discussions and round table presentations going on, but I ended up checking out all the cool MOCs (My Own Creations) that people had made and meeting new friends and some internet friends for the first time.

One of the cool things at any LEGO event is the new LEGO sets that LEGO brings to display. This year LEGO didn’t disappoint, giving us our first look at a couple of the new LEGO Toy Story 3 sets
P1200220

P1200214

Finally seeing Rex and Hamm in person, and actually getting to hold them was really cool. I’m really looking forward to these sets when they come out.

P1200188
One of the cool new vendors and friends I met at this convention was Ann Bartling of ToyRobott.

After much chatting, picture taking and vendor shopping we all went to the Valley Fair Mall to go LEGO shopping. 😀

P1200184

For those of you who have never been to a LEGO convention a “ding and dent” sale is a special shopping night held only for full attendees of a LEGO convention. Not only does the LEGO store give you a discount on everything in the store for the entire weekend (up to 20% depending on how much you spend), but they also have dented or other wise damaged LEGO product available for 30-50% off! And its not just the little stuff people, the Grand Carousel, the Death Star, and even the new Grand Emporium (which is what I managed to snag) were all 50% off! 🙂

I got a rather impressive hull, the Emporium, several Star Wars sets and a Miniturus Game for 50% off, plus a Fire Brigade for 20% off when it was all said and done. It was a pretty eventful day that didn’t end till around 1:30 am. I hadn’t planned on spending so much, but as it will soon be my birthday, I figured it was just an early present to myself. 😉

I will add more pictures and more goings on in the next post. You can also see my entire photo set on Flickr.com There is also a very cool audio and picture slide show at cnet.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Bricks by the Bay Day 1 Recap”

  1. Rick Says:

    No fair, you never told us what you built! ^_-

  2. Annie Says:

    Thats a great little write up you did! thanks!

  3. Toyrobott on Etsy « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] I’ve mentioned her before Annie Bartling, graphic artist and t-shirt designer extraordinaire has just opened up a new store […]

Leave a Reply

