The big “secret” revealed

by

When I said I was back I forgot that I would need a day or two to recover from the weekend and from my commissioned model. I’m still not in tip top form but at least I’m feeling more human.

So, since I still haven’t talked about it yet I will tell you what my big “secret” model is
P1200164

The new Critical Care wing of the Scripps Encinitas hospital that will be finished in 2013. I took the virtual images along with the actual blueprints and created a 1/50 scale replica.

To give you an idea of size, look at the minifigures in the picture. But here is what the footprint looked like with only baseplates.

P1190883

As you can see it took up my entire dinning room table. It took me just a little over 5 weeks to go from flat baseplates to finished model.

In general this was a pretty simple model, mostly rectangle in shape and pretty straightforward in design.
P1190922

The only thing that was tricky was the curved walls in front.
P1190933

So, how do you go from a funky curved wall and build it back into a straight building? Lots and lots of headlight (or washing machine) bricks and technic 1×1 bricks.
P1200012

As you can also see, just because the building is white and tan on the outside, the interior bracing is whatever color I had the most of.

One of the cool things about this building is the signature tiles on the roof. Employees and sponsors were given 2×6 plates with three 2×2 gray tiles and asked to sign their names. They had no idea what it was for. After the model was unveiled last Thursday, I noticed several people pointing out where they had signed. 🙂
P1200017

I’m a pretty messy builder. Ziploc bags and small bins are everywhere. Because this was such a huge project there were bags, bins and boxes all over my floor as well.
P1190899

In the time frame I had couldn’t have completed this project on my own so I called in some assistants.
P1190966
Tiffeny Nervig, Kevin Rooten, my brother Mike Asanuma, and even my mom Karen Asanuma helped out with building parts of the model.

One of the things that this building had was a green roof to achieve that effect I used almost a thousand plants. Since LEGO plant plastic doesn’t glue like regular LEGO brick plastic I had to literally nail them down with tiny nails.
P1190993

The guys that came and picked the model up were really nervous about dropping it. It actually only weighed about 40-50 pounds. They just didn’t want to break it. I assured them that when I make a model I make it to last. 😀
P1200097

All of the details like trees, minifigs and cars had to be installed on site. Kevin and I worked till it was too dark to see on Wednesday and up until the last minutes before the event started so that we could get it all finished.
P1200109

P1200139
My model even got featured in the local Union Tribune newspaper.

All in all it was a fun project. I hadn’t built something this size since leaving LEGOLAND and it was refreshing to know that I still could. It was nice to deliver the model and even nicer to get my dining room table back. 😀

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “The big “secret” revealed”

  1. Minifig Fun Says:

    Wow!! you did an amazing Job with this hospital!

  2. Scripps Encinitas Critical Care Center in Minifig Scale | Beyond the Brick Says:

    […] Name of Model: Scripps Encinitas Critical Care Center […]

Leave a Reply

