BrickWorld — Thrusday Recap

by

Hi all! I know I’ve been a little lacking on posts lately, but bear with me, LEGO conventions have a tendency to do that to me. 🙂

I arrived in Chicago on Wednesday where I met Beth Weis the one and only female LEGO Certified Professional. She was nice enough to pick me up from the airport. Although we’ve been Facebook friends for quite a while, we had never actually met.

In fact I’ve been having a lot of that this trip, lots of my online friends I am meeting in person for the first time. Beth and I hit it off from the very start and I had a great time spending the evening with her. It was nice to get in a day early and kind of work my way gradually into BrickWorld.

P1200879

Although BrickWorld still hasn’t officially started, I already have been doing quite a lot. They had a full round of presentations yesterday, but with all the set up and talking I do the only one I managed to go to was my friend Arthur Gugick’s presentation on Art and Architecture. He did a great job at showing off his creations and talking about the process he uses to create them. I even learned a little bit, I found that Arthur and I have very, very different approaches to making a model. Arthur, who is a math teacher by profession, uses many mathematical calculations to come up with his builds. I on the other hand, although pretty good at math myself, go from a more intuitive and artistic approach. Don’t get me wrong, I use math too, to figure size and scale but I don’t go as far as algebra and calculus to do it. 😀

As for the rest of the day it was mostly talking with friends (old and new). I was fortunate enough to go to the LEGOLAND Discovery Center — a topic I will post in detail after BrickWorld. 😉

P1200881

Okay, I will have much more to post, but for now I’ll have to sign off. There’s lots to do and see. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

