Super Sorting

by

Super Sort

Over the last few days I’ve been doing something I’ve been dreading for a while — a super sort. Normally when I get a LEGO set I build it and then I sort it. But mainly I sort the bricks, plates, and common special elements and put them away properly. All of the elements I don’t use quite as much I put in a box to sort later. Well that works for only so long and I haven’t sorted out all these extra parts for a few years so I had boxes and boxes of unsorted elements.

From the picture, the mixed elements don’t look that bad, in fact for some, this may the equivalent of their entire LEGO collection. But I have boxes and boxes remember. This is just a fraction of what I’ve sorted in the past few days.

The main problem with not sorting out all these parts and having them stuck in a box is that I don’t use them at all this way, unless I need that specific part. But then I have to dig through all those parts . . . Its a viscous cycle. The only remedy for this is sorting, but because I haven’t done it in so long, the problem just got bigger.

Now for those who don’t have quite as many LEGO parts, they probably don’t have this problem. In fact they most likely wish they had this problem. πŸ˜€

When I worked at LEGOLAND, we didn’t have this problem. LEGO comes presorted. So you all you have to do is go and get what you need. But as a freelance LEGO artist, that doesn’t happen when I buy sets. As building with LEGO is my job, sorting is a necessary evil.

So what is the message behind all this? If you do sort your LEGO to any degree, sort it as you get it. Don’t leave boxes of unsorted LEGO getting dusty in corners. πŸ˜‰

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Super Sorting”

  1. Brickbuilder0937 Says:

    For me the this problem is multiplied because I have siblings consistantly building, playing and unsorting my collection:)

  2. Sorting — What not to do « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] in common. Now of course everyone has their own process of how to sort and store their LEGO. I even wrote about sorting a couple of years […]

Leave a Reply

