LEGOLAND California’s Ambassador Class

by

P1220866

Last Sunday I was fortunate to participate in a very special building session — the Ambassador Pass Master Model Builder class. This is an annual building class that is available only for the lifetime park passholders (at $2500 per person) and LEGOLAND California is the only LEGOLAND Park that offers it.

Now as I don’t have an Ambassador Pass, I wouldn’t normally get to go to this event. But as I was covering it for both BrickJournal and my blog I was able to sit in. πŸ™‚

The Ambassador Class has a special meaning for me. I remember before I worked at LEGOLAND I thought it sounded like a really cool thing. Every year the Ambassadors get to go to and build a model with the LEGOLAND Master Model Builders. But of course, I worked in the Model Shop. So while I worked there, I not only got to be part of the Ambassador classes, but I also got to design some of the models and actually teach the class.

This is one of the models I did for the 2005 Ambassador Class.
Photo credit: John Cooper

P1220947

Master Builder Gary MacIntire designed this years model, and I have to say it is one of the coolest so far. He, along with Model Builder Ryan Ziegelbauer taught the class. If you would like to see pictures of the class you can see them on my Flickr photostream

You can also see what all the past years models look like on LEGOLAND Ambassador John Cooper’s brickshelf.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “LEGOLAND California’s Ambassador Class”

  1. Joshua Delahunty Says:

    Great lookin’ Building Instructions in the background, there. πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  2. Samuel .S Says:

    It’s Billy Mays and the Shamwow Guy!!

  3. Epic Sandcastle for LEGOLAND Lifetime Members | Beyond the Brick Says:

    […] UPDATE 9/7: More photos of the ambassador class have now been uploaded to flickr by Mariann Asanuma 9/20: …and now she’s also blogged about it. […]

Leave a Reply

