Building the Space Shuttle

by

I talked earlier about the Shuttle Adventure set #10213 when it was coming out, but it wasn’t until last night that I actually got to build the set. At the recent BrickCon I was able to pick up the set during the Scratch and Dent sale for 50%. When I bought it, I honestly didn’t know how I was going to get it home. Thankfully a friend of mine who had driven up to Seattle was willing to bring all my rather large LEGO sets (I got the Space Police Central also at 50%, The Burrow, and the Winter Village Bakery) back home with him.

Now I have to admit, I bought the set, like I buy pretty much all my sets for the pieces. I’ll usually build the model once, but I rarely leave it up for very long before I take it apart and sort all the elements out. And, since I build much more complicated models, I sometimes get bored with how a normal set is built, its just to simple for me.

Even so, this set was a delightful build for me. It was a short build, taking only about 4-5 hours, I’m not sure as I wasn’t watching the clock (my projects can take weeks). I may be dating myself a little, but I have the 1990 Space Shuttle which is a much smaller set and much less impressive. I remember at the time really enjoying that set. I also remember thinking about but not buying the 2003 Space Shuttle Discovery set. It wasn’t nearly as smooth as this newest incarnation, although if you look at the picture, it has a lot of similarities in the build of the shuttle itself.

This set has all the bells and whistles when it comes to a truly nice set. There are two astronauts, a launch pad, removable booster rockets, a satellite in the cargo hold, and even a camera man to film the blast off.

As I said, I bought the set for the pieces, but now that its finished I’ve decided to have it on display, at least for a little while. 😉

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

