Series 3 Collectible Minifigures

by

Series 3 minifigs

Here’s the first non-preliminary image of the Series 3 Collectible Minifigures slated to come out in January.

There are some new elements and new colors, but if you read some of the online comments this series isn’t as exciting as Series 1 and 2. One of the most exciting, at least if my suspicion is correct, is the Elf Lord. If you look really closely, it almost looks like he actually has pointed ears. I don’t know if it is true or not, I guess we will find out in a couple months. But if it is true, it would be the first time that LEGO has given a standard minifig head ears of any sort.

Other exciting elements are the sand green fish and the white beard of the Fisherman, both new colors for those elements. And even the Fisherman’s fishing rod is different from the old style fishing rod.

The baseball bat, which up till now has only been produced by BrickArms, now is an official part. There is also the tennis racket and a new snowboard, for those who want more sports themes.

Some people fear that LEGO is becoming more Playmobile but I don’t necessarily see that as a bad thing. Playmobile has always been willing to take more chances and do themes and subjects that LEGO would find too controversial such as the Nativity. Plus, as I’ve been paying attention to the sets that are produced by both companies for years, LEGO seems to always be a year or two behind Playmobile in making very similar sets. For example — Playmobile came out with The Egyptians and next year LEGO is coming out with Pharaoh’s Quest next year (and from what I’ve seen of the sets, I’m super excited about it). 😉

Now don’t get me wrong, LEGO is my first love when it comes to toys of course. But I had both LEGO and Playmobile growing up. I made the decision a long time ago to stick with LEGO rather than Playmobile for the simple reason that LEGO can be built into anything while Playmobile you are stuck with whatever you bought.

Okay, now that I’ve gone completely off topic from the start of my post, what do you think of the new series? Will it be as popular as the past two?

I know for a fact that there are definitely 2 more series slated to come out, and who knows what will be in those? 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Series 3 Collectible Minifigures”

  1. CatJuggling Says:

    I’m not as excited about the series as a whole, but things like the Gorilla and Hula dancer I’m very happy to see. I think my disappointment with this set can be summed up as “Too much sports.” When nearly half of the series has some kind of mondern, sports-like activity (Fisherman counts for me with Hula, Rapper, and even the Pilot getting half points) I think you’ve skewed a little off. Still, I’m sure I’ll be out hunting the ones I do want when they hit shelves.

    Oh, and barcode or not doesn’t really bother me. I didn’t use them last time and while it improves

  2. LEGO Collectible Minifigures Series 4 « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] wasn’t as excited about Series 3, but now that I have gotten a full set, I really like […]

Leave a Reply

