Bricks by the Bay 2011 Recap

by

As I mentioned in an earlier post I was preparing for Bricks by the Bay so my posts would be spotty. I really am sorry I’ve been so bad at posting lately, I was pretty tired after I got back from this last LEGO convention and I’ve been fighting a cold for about two weeks, not fun! So I should be much more on the ball with posting from now on.

P1250857

So Bricks by the Bay. This year was an excellent improvement on top of an already great convention from last year. Most notable was the venue change. Having the convention in a larger hotel and convention space allowed for a much roomier feeling convention, as well as lending to growth in the future.

There were a lot of awesome creations this year, including several new-to-me builders. My brother Mike (somewhat of a closet AFOL) even came along to his first LEGO Con ever. Not only did he come and help me out with my vendor table, but he also brought along a couple MOCs of his own.

Here you can see the set of Chameleons that he crafted for the Art section. He actually ended up winning “Best Little Thing” in the Art category. 🙂
P1250786

He also brought along his Incredible Hulk
P1250710

And he even participated in the Catapult Launch
P1250647

I brought along a new mosaic that I decided to make the week before the convention, my Pac Man Mosaic
P1250707

Fun Fact: The Pac Man Mosaic took 20 hours to build and the score is the day and year that Pac Man was introduced in Japan. 😉

One of the largest and most impressive displays was created by Roninlug and friends that had all kinds of lights and sound effects
P1250690

P1250660

The really interesting thing was that there was a Steampunk convention going on at the same time. So, naturally some of our resident LEGO steampunkers Guy Himber and Iain Heath just had to join in 🙂
P1250640

There are many more pictures on my Flickr photostream.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

