Ladybugs, Bees and other things

by

With Spring officially here I decided to create a few new fun dangle earrings.

Ladybug Earrings 5Bee Earrings 4

Now I can hear the LEGO purists from here. Yes, parts are cut and “cheated” by some of it being just glued on. “Damaging” LEGO like this would have bothered me too when I was younger. I can remember the first time I actually cut a LEGO element it felt just plain wrong. But now I’ve changed my views.

I’m not encouraging children to start cutting into their LEGO of course. While I still try to be as purist as I can, my view on LEGO has changed a lot over the years. Part of being a Master Model Builder is the necessity to cut and glue. So I’ve stopped seeing it as this “rare” thing that can not be altered any way.

ROY Square Earrings 1RYB Tile Dangle Earrings 1

Naturally there are rare LEGO elements, the ones I have I would never think of cutting, drilling or gluing. But those parts that I have dozens or even hundreds of the same element, that’s a different story. I can get more, that’s one of the advantages now a days. With Pick A Brick, LEGO.com, and Bricklink its a lot easier to get the LEGO you want.

So when I deem it appropriate I cut, I drill and I glue. And, if I do say so myself, the results are worth the “damage.” 😉

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Ladybugs, Bees and other things”

  1. merriam powell Says:

    I love it!! I have always loved altered book art, but it took me a very long time before I was able to ruin a book to make a beautiful art project, it was truly painful. Now I don’t hesitate, but do have to explain to my kids why its ok for mommy to rip pages from the dictionary, but they must treat books with respect, oops!

  2. Katie Says:

    I love those earrings! Very cute, and worth the cutting. 😉

    ^I bought a book once because I loved the pictures and I was going to cut them out to use, but never could bring myself to do it. Oh well. I still have it. Maybe some day!

  3. Star Wars Wedding Cake Topper « Modelbuildingsecrets's Weblog Says:

    […] also drilled into the 1×1 green plates to make the flowers. But as I mentioned in a previous post, sometimes its necessary. The main reason this time was not so the Princess Leia would have a funky […]

Leave a Reply

