Hi-Res Series 5 Collectible Minifigure Pic

by

Series 5 single shots

Even though Series 4 has only been out for about a month, the buzz is already spinning on Series 5. As these Collectible Minifigure Series continue to come out I am both excited and frustrated with some of the choices.

Most of the figures are innovative. I love the new elements, hair styles, and printed outfits. But at the same time I wonder why they continue to come out with multiples of the similar figures — i.e. the skater, surfer, etc. I also wonder why they are making yet a third “fisherman” in a row. Its great and all that they designed a new fishing pole and getting a sand green fish is fun, heck I even like the Eskimo fig, but is a third fishing figure what we need?

It seems with each Collectible Series there are the “crash test dummys” and there are the “Spartans.” What I mean by this is that there are figures that some people don’t really even want and then there are the figures that people want several or even hundreds of — and yes, some one actually got 300+ Spartans.

Perhaps LEGO, even with all of us AFOLs (Adult Fans of LEGO) telling them), doesn’t understand what is happening with these Collectible Minifigures. They had barcodes on the first two Series and the codes were cracked within days of them coming out. LEGO didn’t like that so they eliminated them. LEGO’s explaination — “The figures are meant to be traded.”

Series 1 was the worst because LEGO didn’t know how popular the Collectible Minifigures would be. They didn’t make enough. Now at least, although there are no barcodes, LEGO does produce enough so that you can at least find multiples pretty easily without paying the exorbitant prices on Bricklink.

But sometimes I, and I’m sure many, would just like to get the figures I want and not have to try and figure out what is in the bag. The ironic thing is that I can actually tell. I’m very good at feeling through the bag and knowing with a 99.99% accuracy what figure is there. In fact, I’ve helped many frustrated parents and LEGO fans find the figures they want.

On a supply standpoint I understand why LEGO wouldn’t want to just sell the figures so you could tell what they are. They’d have to have 16 different packages for one thing instead of just one per Series. But, if they actually did sell the figures where you could tell what they are, like Playmobil does, LEGO would know with much more accuracy what figures are more popular — a good indicator on what possible future themes LEGO could produce.

Even so, the Collectible Figures as a whole are one of the best new things to come out of LEGO in the past several years. It certainly brought me back to actively wanting Minifigures again. 🙂

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Hi-Res Series 5 Collectible Minifigure Pic”

  1. Purple Dave Says:

    Regarding the barcodes, that was the second stupidest thing I’ve seen them do. The first was, just as the yellow-bagged S1 minifigs were hitting the shelves, coming out with a yellow cardboard minifig display case…that only had 15 compartments. But the barcodes seem like there were two rival camps working against each other. They wanted the minifigs to be entirely random, so the buyer has no idea what they’re getting until they open it. Then they put a barcode on it, which they surely had to know could be visually identified, even without the number printed underneath it. And then it turns out the LEGO stores can actually scan that second, minifig-specific barcode so _they_ would know exactly what you were buying, thus allowing them to track which minifigs were selling. Except you, the buyer, weren’t supposed to know what you were getting, so that information would be largely worthless. Or rather, given how fast the things flew off the shelves (the local store sold out of _10_boxes_ of S2 in about five hours during their soft opening), that information would be completely worthless, except if you assume that some or all of the buyers have deciphered the barcodes so they actually do know what they’re getting. Otherwise all it tells you is that the more common a minifig is, the more “popular” it is as well.

  2. Beth Rang Says:

    Thanks for posting the pics of the new minifigures. My son and I were oohing and aahing over them. We’re having a big Lego kidsfest at the Minneapolis convention center soon and hope to pick up more of the minifigures there. I like using them for shadowbox projects, and my 8 year old son’s a total Lego nut. I got him to make me a Dr. Who scene complete with his version of a Dalek.

  3. Lower Torso Says:

    I have spent many hours palping collectible minifigure bags for children at my local Lego Store. I consider it “penance” of a sort, and payback for all the time the store employees have spent helping me learn how to recognize the figures by palping. I have a rule: kids come first (they ARE children’s toys, after all). I gave up my first two Hazmat Guys and my first Mad Scientist to kids. I have seen other AFOLs doing the same thing. It is only fair: I have a (very small) salary, and a car… I can theoretically come back later. They have very little money and they are at their parents’ mercy for transportation. Besides, the parents need to be cut a break for indulging their child’s Lego affliction, and helping out gets them out the door faster.

    Sometimes I go over to the display and help out, even if I’m not shopping for minifigures. It gives the staff a break, and it can be pretty fun. Funny story: the first kid I gave a Hazmat Guy… when he first approached me, he looked at me like he was meeting a unicorn, and said, “hey… are you an AFOL?”

Leave a Reply

