BrickFair 2011 Recap

by

Well, I’ve now gotten another LEGO Convention under my belt. This was the farthest one for me, I can’t go any further, at least not in the Continental U.S.

I have to say that I really enjoyed this one. My first impression — big! As BrickFair is held at a convention center rather than a hotel, there was a lot more space. Its not nearly in the realm of Comic Con of course, but still, there was plenty of space. Speaking of Space, that was the theme of the convention. šŸ˜‰

P1280989

What I loved about coming to BrickFair was that I got to meet a whole new set of AFOLs (Adult Fans of LEGO). Some of them I knew online, but not in real life.

P1280380
LEGO premiered the Winter Post Office. It was really nice to see it in person and made me want to get it that much more. I like the printed banjo tile, the details of the Post Office, and all the fun elements.

There were some really impressive models that stood out to me. In no particular order:
P1280740
Temple of Tan Tiger by Infomaniac

P1280429
Bionicle Seahorse by Mike Nieves

P1280545
P1280534
We Rule by Sabrina Gravatt

P1280805
Serpent Ruins by Seircon and Coral

P1280907
Sorcerer Mickey by Mark Staffa

I took a whole bunch of photos at this one, over 800, which I still haven’t fully gone through. Feel free to check out the full BrickFair set on Flickr.

I’m already planning on going back next year. And I just booked my flight to BrickCon. I don’t know if I can do more than 4 LEGO Cons a year. I’d love to check out all of them, but I honestly don’t know how Jim Foulds does it. Just going to these four, on top of all my regular work (if you can call what I do regular) was certainly a stretch on my time and energy. As far as I can tell BrickCon is the last one for this year, but each year there seems to be more and more.

Even with the lack of sleep, I love going to LEGO Cons and BrickFair was certainly a wonderful trip! šŸ˜€

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

