LEGO Haunted House 10228 Set Review

by

DSC03035

I can’t let October pass by without reviewing the largest Halloween themed set ever. At $180 USD and 2064 parts it is hefty in both parts and price point. Yes its expensive, but with all the sand green goodness that comes in the set, I’m willing to forgive LEGO for it. 😉

As I’ve mentioned previously I’ve wanted a Haunted House model since I was a little girl and even though I could easily create my own, this one is very satisfying as a set.

I have to admit, I get bored with a lot of smaller sets now a days. There’s nothing wrong with them per se, its just that after building models that are several feet long, I look at very few of the sets as more than just parts packs that haven’t been broken up yet. Okay, I’m not that bad, but I do have a tendency to only build the set once and then part it and any multiples of the same set I get.

So, onto the review —

DSC03038

Here’s what all the parts look like in their packages. Not that exciting, but its fun to go from this to a completed set.

There are two #1 bags and 3 instruction books.
DSC03040

The first step is naturally to build all the figures.
DSC03042

The the next step is to build all the furniture:
DSC03043

You will probably notice that I won’t have any stickers on my model, I normally don’t use the stickers. Although I am very tempted with this set, as they are pretty cool.

The #2 bags is where we start the actual building.
DSC03044

Now with all large builds I normally sort the parts out before I start to build. It makes it a lot more orderly to build and although it takes time at the start, it saves time in the end.
DSC03046 And this way you can see how much of each part there are 😉

Here’s what it looks like after all of the #2 bags are used
DSC03048

Here’s what it looks like after #3
DSC03052

And here’s midway through #4
DSC03059

Here’s the mostly finished model, with only the roof top and gate to be built.
DSC03061

Somehow I didn’t take a picture of the model finished, but trust me, it looks like the one on the box 😀

The model took me about 4 and a half hours (build time will vary depending on person and circumstances). 😉

My take on the model — AWESOME!!! It was a great build and it has some excellent parts, so much so that I’m really, really tempted to get a second one. My only criticism is that it needs more ghosts, but I can fix that.

It is a definite must buy for any LEGO, Halloween, or Haunted House enthusiast!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

