LEGOLAND California is 10 years old.

by

brick-cake-1-small

This past weekend LEGOLAND California celebrated its 10th anniversary. To commemorate this occasion, my good friend and fellow Master Model Builder Bill Vollbrecht designed “the world’s largest birthday cake.” It had all kinds of really cool details all built in Miniland scale that showcase different rides and areas of the park. The cake was even animated and the candles at the top light up.

I checked out the cake on Saturday. That was a mistake. I only say that because it was packed!!!!! Because it was the 10th anniversary, they had a promotion with a local radio station for $10 tickets into the park. I went specifically to see the LEGO cake, since I have a year pass and because I worked there for 5 of the 10 years its been open, I don’t usually go when its crowded. In fact, I try to avoid it whenever possible. But, even so, it was a nice day.

Even though I don’t work at LEGOLAND anymore, it will always hold a special place in my heart. I still have lots of friends that work there. Also, because I was involved in designing and creating so many areas of the park a little piece of me is still there. šŸ˜‰

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment